aardvarc image A.A.R.D.V.A.R.C.
An Abuse, Rape, and Domestic Violence Aid and Resource Collection
Custom Search

Abuse in Relationships Sexual Victimization Stalking Statistics Victim Assistance Bookstore

SEXUAL VICTIMIZATION

Public Record Resources



Handbook for Victims of Crime in Alaska (PDF)


The Rape Recovery Handbook by Matsakis Aphrodite, Ph.D.
The Rape Recovery Handbook



Sexual Assault: Will I Ever Feel OK Again?
Sexual Assault: Will I Ever Feel OK Again



More Than Conquerors : A Guide to Recovery and Healing for Survivors of Sexual Abuse and Rape
More Than Conquerors: A Guide to Recovery and Healing for Survivors of Sexual Abuse and Rape

ALASKA: Sexual Assault Info & Resources



ALASKA SEXUAL ASSAULT LAWS

AGE of CONSENT / STATUTORY RAPE

  • Age of consent is 16.
  • There is a 3 year "Romeo clause"; if one person is under 16 and the other person is 3 years older or more, it becomes a crime.
  • Applies equally to homosexual and hetersexual couples.

SEX CRIMES AGAINST MINORS

SEXUAL ASSAULT

RAPE DURING MARRIAGE

In a prosecution under AS 11.41.410 or 11.41.420, it is NOT a defense that the victim was, at the time of the alleged offense, the legal spouse of the defendant. However, one party must have filed with the court for a separation, divorce, or dissolution of the marriage. See Sec.11.41.432.

INCEST

Under Sec. 11.41.450, a person commits the crime of incest if, being 18 years of age or older, that person engages in sexual penetration with another who is related, either legitimately or illegitimately, as:
  • an ancestor or descendant of the whole or half blood;
  • a brother or sister of the whole or half blood; or
  • an uncle, aunt, nephew, or niece by blood.
Incest is a class C felony.

CRIMINAL STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS

Under Alaska Statutes 12.10.010 prosecution may commence up to 10 years after the commission of the offense.

CIVIL STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS

Alaska does not impose a statute of limitations for felony sexual abuse. Under Sec. 09.10.065, a person may bring an action at any time for:
  • felony sexual abuse of a minor; or
  • felony sexual assault; or
  • unlawful exploitation of a minor
First, second and third degree sexual assault or child abuse are classified as felonies.


Alaska Sexual Assault: Where to Get Help
LocationProgramPhone
STATEWIDE Alaska Network on DV & Sexual Assault
Alaska Office of Victim's Rights
Alaska Dept. of Corrections
800-799-7233
866-274-2620
907-269-7370
AnchorageStanding Together Against Rape
Victims for Justice
907-276-7273
907-278-0977
AndersonCare Crisis Line907-582-2273
AngoonCommunity Family Services907-788-3636
BarrowAiding Women in Crisis800-478-0267
BethelTundra Women's Coalition800-478-7799
Copper CenterCrisis Line907-822-3855
CordovaCFRC Crisis Line907-424-4357
DillinghamSafe Environments for Everyone800-478-2316
EmmonakKWRCC Women's Shelter800-478-1434
FairbanksCrisis Line907-452-7273
HomerSouth Peninsula Haven House800-478-7712
JuneauAiding Women in Abuse & Rape Emergencies907-283-7257
KenaiLeeshore Women's Resource Crisis Center907-283-7257
KetchikanWomen in Safe Homes907-225-9474
KodiakWomen's Resource & Crisis Center907-486-3625
KotzebueFamily Crisis Center907-442-3969
NaknekFamily Crisis907-246-4222
NomeWomen's Support Group800-570-5444
PalmerWomen's Resource Center907-376-4080
SewardSeward Crisis Services888-224-5257
SitkaSitkans Against Family Violence800-478-6511
TananaCrisis Line907-366-7279
UnalaskaUnalaskans Against Sexual Assault800-478-7238
ValdezAdvocates For Victims of Violence800-835-4044



Home--- About--- Support Us--- Poetry--- Legal & Copyright--- Contact

Last Updated: March 29, 2011